Phillip Island, VIC/AUS (Saturday 9th November, 2019): Torquay Boardriders Club have taken out the Victorian qualifying round of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle for the second year running in winter-like conditions on Phillip Island today.

With strong westerly winds and consistent rain, the event was held at Smiths Beach with 6 of the state’s top clubs vying for the $3,000 in cash prizes and a spot in the National final.

Featuring some of Victoria’s top talent, Torquay were able to dominate their opening round heat and final with consistent scoring across all of their surfers.

Up and coming talent Xavier Huxtable was electric as their power surfer locking in a 7.83 to help Torquay finish with a 38.66 heat total in the final. He was backed up by former professional surfer Adam Robertson along with Todd Rosewall and Bella Wilson scoring strong waves.

Home team Phillip Island also boasted great depth in the team list with former Championship Tour surfer Glyndyn Ringrose and current QS surfer Sophie Fletcher. However they fell short in the final finishing on 29.30 points and placing in second overall.

“Phillip Island has a high-quality team and has such great depth, so it feels really good to get the win on their home turf,” said Torquay vice-president Harry Mann.

Torquay will now progress to the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle National Final in Newcastle next year along with second place getters Phillip Island.

“We love getting the chance to head to Newcastle and compete against the big boys at the National Final.”

“To get the opportunity to surf against names like Parko, Taj and Steph Gilmore is amazing for our club and the up and coming surfers like Xav (Huxtable) and Bella (Wilson) who are trying to make it.”

Placing in third was Peninsula Surfriders Club on 25.32 points followed by South Coast Boardriders on 23.69.

Torquay’s Bella Wilson was awarded the Air Asia Wave of the Day for her wave in the final that led to Torquay becoming victorious.

Phillip Island’s Carl Wright earned the Oakley Prizim Award for his outstanding overall performance across multiple heats during the day.

Final Results:
1st Torquay Boardriders Club – 38.66
2nd Phillip Island Boardriders Club – 29.30
3rd Peninsula Surfriders Club – 25.32
4th South Coast Boardriders Club – 23.69

Now in its seventh season, the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event, involving more than 60 of Australia’s best boardrider clubs and $110,000 in prize money.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL World Tour surfers (Men and Women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

Adding to the high stakes at the State qualifying events will be two speciality awards. The Oakley Prizm Performer will be awarded to the standout surfer, while the AirAsia Big Air will be presented to the surfer who does the biggest and best aerial maneuver at each event.

Full results can be found via

The 2019/20 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by nudie, Oakley, Woolworths, Hyundai, AirAsia, 2XP, WSL, MySurf.Tv, Fox Sports and Surfing Australia.

2019/2020 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series Calendar
ABB – EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – Aug 24, 2019
ABB – EVENT 2 – Trigg, WA – Sept 21, 2019
ABB – EVENT 3 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Oct 13, 2019
ABB – EVENT 4 – NSW Sth – Kiama, NSW – Oct 26, 2019
ABB – EVENT 5 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Nov 2, 2019
ABB – EVENT 6 – Phillip Island, VIC – Nov 9, 2019
ABB – EVENT 7 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Nov 23, 2019
ABB – EVENT 8 – Clifton Beach TAS – Dec 14, 2019
National Final – Newcastle NSW – Feb 15-16, 2020