SOUTH ARM/TASMANIA (Sunday October 4th/2020), South Arm Boardriders Club swung the sword today at RSL’s on Hope Beach and carved up the opposition to retain the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle State Qualifying Crown for 2020/21.

Three of Tasmania’s best boardriding clubs battled head to head with each other as well as the conditions on the rugged Tasmanian coastline. The conditions provided a lumpy 1-2-foot surf which challenged the best of each club’s contestants who were on show.

South Arm took the trophy home today at RSL’s on Hope Beach with their powerful team of Luke Bugg, Matt Kennedy, Rudy Davis, Lizzy Stokely Toby Lawrence and Noah Hassett making the most of the peaky lefts and rights at the popular beach break.

North West Boardriders featured a strong team of Zeb Critchlow, Jy Johannesen, Matt Gaby, Taj Cadle, Sophie Adams, and Dylan Haberle but struggled to find the bigger scoring waves in the shifty beach breaks.

The popular event again saw Tasmania’s top three boardrider clubs battle it out for honours in average competition conditions. To top off the resounding team victory for South Arm, local gun Rudy Davis scored an average 8.8 points to take the Oakley Prizm Performer Award.

nudie Australian Boardriders Battle FINAL RESULTS.

1st. South Arm Boardriders 38.4 points
2nd. North West Boardriders 23.5 points
3rd. Park Beach Boardriders 14.3 points

Oakley Prizm Performance Prize Pack Winner – Rudy Davis.

nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series Eight Schedule:

ABB – EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – August 22, 2020

ABB – EVENT 2 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 5, 2020

ABB – EVENT 3 – Trigg, WA – Sept 20, 2020

ABB – EVENT 4 – Clifton Beach TAS – Oct 3, 2020

ABB – EVENT 5 – Phillip Island, VIC – Oct 17, 2020

ABB – EVENT 6 – NSW Sth – Kiama, NSW – Nov 21, 2020

ABB – EVENT 7 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Nov 28, 2020

ABB – EVENT 8 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Dec 12, 2020

ABB – National Final – TBC

Now in its eighth season, the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event, involving more than 60 of Australia’s best boardrider clubs and $112,700 in prize money.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL World Tour surfers (Men and Women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

Adding to the high stakes at the State qualifying events will be the Oakley Prizm Performer will be awarded to the standout surfer, while the Surfing Australia Innovation Award ($1000) will be presented to the surfer who performs the most innovative manoeuvre at the National Final.

Other Awards at the National Final include:

Surfing Australia Club Spirit Award – $1500

Layne Beachley Medal

Wayne Rabbit Batholomew Medal