Waits Point/South Australia(November 25th/2019): Seaford claimed the win at stop seven of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle series today at Waits Point in South Australia today.
Three of South Australia’s top boardriders clubs gathered at Waitpinga beach where they battled punchy 3ft waves hunting for the odd corner that would give them scoring opportunities. Seaford came out of the gates firing with their star-studded team demolishing the competition in round one, booking themselves a place in the final.
The final was a different affair with Seaford and South Coast tied for first place with only their power surfers left to battle it out for the win. Dion Atkinson managed to get Seaford across the line with an 8 point ride, relegating South Coast Boardriders to second place. Seaview Road Board Riders finished up third.
“This is such a good event and I love representing my club. It is great to see all the families on the beach supporting their clubs. I am stoked we took the win,” said Dion Atkinson.
The Oakley Prism Performer award went to Clayton Howes (Seaford) and the AirAsia big air award to Digby Tooze (Roaders).
Seaford will travel to Newcastle in February to represent SA at the national finals.

Now in its seventh season, the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event, involving more than 60 of Australia’s best boardrider clubs and $110,000 in prize money.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL World Tour surfers (Men and Women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

Adding to the high stakes at the State qualifying events are two speciality awards. The Oakley Prizm Performer will be awarded to the standout surfer, while the AirAsia Big Air will be presented to the surfer who does the biggest and best aerial manoeuvre at each event.

The 2019/20 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by nudie, Oakley, Woolworths, Hyundai, AirAsia, 2XP, WSL, mySURF.tv, Fox Sports and Surfing Australia.


1st: Seaford Boardriders
2nd: South Coast Boardriders
3rd: Seaview Roaders BoardridersAirAsia Big Air Award: Digby Tooze (Roaders)

Oakley Prizm Award: Clayton Howse (Seaford)

2019/2020 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series Calendar
ABB – EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – Aug 24, 2019
ABB – EVENT 2 – Trigg, WA – Sept 21, 2019
ABB – EVENT 3 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Oct 13, 2019
ABB – EVENT 4 – NSW Sth – Kiama, NSW – Oct 26, 2019
ABB – EVENT 5 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Nov 2, 2019
ABB – EVENT 6 – Phillip Island, VIC – Nov 9, 2019
ABB – EVENT 7 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Nov 23, 2019
ABB – EVENT 8 – Clifton Beach TAS – Dec 14, 2019
National Final – Newcastle NSW – Feb 15-16, 2020