Gold Coast, Queensland (Saturday, 22nd August 2020) – Reigning national champions North Shore Boardriders have taken out the 2020 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle QLD qualifier today, which was held at Duranbah Beach on the Gold Coast in punchy 2ft waves. North Shore defeated Snapper Rocks, Noosa and Burleigh Boardriders respectively in a nail-biting final. All four teams will now head to the national final to be held in 2021 (details TBC).  

Burleigh’s Liam O’Brien started off the heat with a 5.4 (out of a possible 10.00) to take an early lead, but after all teams progressed through the heat with their various surfers it was North Shore who’s accumulative total heat score was able to secure victory.   

North Shore’s power surfer (the most vital role in the team), Alister Reginato, was stoked to take out the QLD qualifier and move one step closer to winning a second national final. 

“It’s pretty epic,” said Reginato. “It was our goal to win the national final, which we were able to achieve last season. We’ve never won the QLD qualifier event – which is just as important to us because we’re surfing against all our local clubs and we know everyone here really well so it’s super competitive.”

“We have a great team, we all push each other at our club events and training, and I guess it shows when we’re in the water together.” 

Burleigh Boardriders’ Liam Obrien has won the Oakley Prizm Award for best performer of the day.   


1st: North Shore Boardriders

2nd: Snapper Rocks Surfriders

3rd: Noosa Boardriders

4th: Burleigh Boardriders

Oakley Prizm Award (Top Performer):

Liam O’Brien (Burleigh Boardriders)

For a more detailed list of individual results, including individual wave scores, click HERE

nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series Eight Schedule:

ABB – EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – August 22, 2020

ABB – EVENT 2 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Sept 5, 2020 

ABB – EVENT 3 – Trigg, WA – Sept 19, 2020

ABB – EVENT 4 – Clifton Beach TAS – Oct 3, 2020

ABB – EVENT 5 – Phillip Island, VIC – Oct 17, 2020

ABB – EVENT 6 – NSW Sth – Kiama, NSW – Nov 21, 2020

ABB – EVENT 7 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Nov 28, 2020

ABB – EVENT 8 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Dec 12, 2020

ABB – National Final – TBC

Now in its eighth season, the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is the country’s biggest grassroots boardriders event, involving more than 60 of Australia’s best boardrider clubs and $112,700 in prize money.

The series is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL World Tour surfers (Men and Women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective State qualifying events and the National Final.

Adding to the high stakes at the State qualifying events will be two speciality awards. The Oakley Prizm Performer will be awarded to the standout surfer, while the Surfing Australia Innovation Award ($1000) will be presented to the surfer who performs the most innovative manoeuvre.

Other Awards at the National Final include: 

Surfing Australia Air Show – $1000

Surfing Australia Club Spirit Award – $1500

Layne Beachley Medal

Wayne Rabbit Batholomew Medal

NOTE: Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation and Surfing Australia’s commitment to comply with all State and Federal regulations, series dates are subject to change at any time. 

The 2020/21 nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is proudly supported by nudie, Oakley, Woolworths, Hyundai, Destination NSW, City of Newcastle, 2XP, WSL, mySURFtv, Surfing Australia and Surfing Queensland.