BOMBO BEACH, KIAMA (Saturday, 2 September 2017): Scarborough Boardriders have taken out the first NSW based nudie Australian Boardriders Battle event, eclipsing 12 other clubs in the playful three-foot waves at Bombo Beach to take the top spot on the dais.

Anchored by former World Surf League (WSL) Qualifying Series (QS) surfer Nic Squires and female surfers Billie Melinz and Kasey Hargreaves as their Women surfers, Scarborough were able to post a series of impressive wins across the Skins, Teams and Women’s divisions. Taking the top honours in the blue-ribbon Teams division final, Scarborough was able to net themselves the points to propel them ahead of their closest rivals.

“This is one of the most satisfying victories I’ve experienced,” said Squires. “Several years ago, there weren’t many people who even knew Scarborough Boardriders existed, but thanks to teamwork and an extraordinary amount of depth in the area we’ve been able to build to this point. We came second in this event last year, but to go the extra step feels incredible. We can’t wait for the final in Newcastle.”

Usually renowned for his big wave prowess, Brett Burcher was able to play a pivotal role in Ulladulla Boardrider’s runner up finish. Burcher amassed three respective Skins victories in the second round of the division to allow Ulladulla to gain the upper hand over the majority of their opposition. As a result, Burcher was awarded the Milwaukee Heavy Duty Hack award.

A range of current and former World Surf League (WSL) World Championship Tour (CT) surfers – including Connor O’Leary (Elouera), Blake Thornton (Maroubra) and Jake Spooner (Sandon Point) represented their hometown boardriders clubs in the elite one-day event.

Participating clubs included Bondi, Southbridge, Jones Beach, Ulladulla, Maroubra, Woonoona, Scarborough, Sandon Point, Culburra, Elouera, Cronulla Point, Cronulla Sharks and Werri Beach.

The main base for event two of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series was Bombo or Jones’ Beach.

The nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series will involve more than 60 of Australia’s best boardriders clubs in eight state qualifying rounds and will culminate in a National final in NSW in February 2017 for 24 clubs.This weekend’s event will see 13 of the best boardriders clubs in NSW battle it out for a spot in the national final set to run in Newcastle, NSW in February 2018.

The nudie Australian Boardriders Battle is officially sanctioned by the World Surf League (WSL), which allows Australian WSL Championship Tour surfers (men and women) the opportunity to represent their local boardriders club at respective state qualifying events as well as the national final.

The purpose of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle program is to build the profile and capacity of community boardriders clubs Australia-wide. In the past four years, Surfing Australia has invested over $600,000 into Surfing Australia affiliated boardriders clubs as part of the nudie Australian Boardriders Battle series.

Major sponsors of the 2017/18 series include the naming rights partner nudie and supporting sponsors Oakley, Nikon, Woolworths, Milwaukee, Destination NSW, Newcastle City Council, World Surfaris, World Surf League, and Surfing Australia.

To find out more information, please visit

1 – Scarborough Boardriders – 6000 points
2 – Ulladulla Boardriders – 5225 points
3 – Maroubra United Boardriders – 4250 points
4 – Elouera Boardriders – 4050 points
5 – Woonoona Boardriders – 3962 points
6 – Southbridge Boardriders – 3850 points
7 – Bondi Boardriders – 3662 points
8 – Jones Beach Boardriders – 3474 points
9 – Sandon Point Boardriders – 3462 points
10 – Werri Boardriders – 3462 points
11 – Culburra Beach Boardriders – 3274 points
12 – Cronulla Point Boardriders – 2862 points
13 – Cronulla Sharks Boardriders – 2850 points

nudie Australian Boardriders Battle Series 2017/18
EVENT 1 – Gold Coast, QLD – August 26, 2017
EVENT 2 – NSW South – Kiama, NSW – Sept 2, 2017
EVENT 3 – NSW Central – North Narrabeen, NSW – Sept 23, 2017
EVENT 4 – NSW Nth – Coffs Harbour, NSW – Oct 7, 2017
EVENT 5 – Trigg, WA – Oct 21, 2017
EVENT 6 – Fleurieu Peninsula, SA – Nov 11, 2017
EVENT 7 – Phillip Island, VIC – Dec 9, 2017
EVENT 8 – Clifton Beach, TAS – Dec 16, 2017
NATIONAL FINAL – Newcastle Beach, NSW – Feb 16-18, 2017